Photo of the UConn Health Center

Messages from the Executive Vice President

August 5, 2009

Faculty Input Shaping the Partnership with Hartford Hospital

As we continue to await legislative action on the proposed Partnership with Hartford Healthcare Corp., I would like to take a moment to thank all Health Center staff who have actively helped to shape this bold and detailed plan.

In particular, I am deeply grateful to the School of Medicine and School of Dental Medicine faculty who have devoted considerable time providing input, reviewing documents and at all times, advocating for our unique academic mission. In doing so, they were part of several Integration Committees and working groups.

The Partnership Education Committee includes Drs. Bruce Koeppen, Bruce Liang, Kiki Nissen and Robert Bona.

The Partnership Faculty/Physician Relationship committee includes Drs. Richard Simon, Peter Albertsen, Jay Lieberman, Douglas Fellows, Adam Silverman and David Shafer.

In addition, Dr. Peter Albertsen is involved with the Partnership Finance Committee and Dr. Denis Lafreniere is involved with the Partnership Human Resources Committee.

Many of the sub-documents have received input from elected members of the UCHC Clinical Council and UCHC Research Council (listed below). These documents are now in their final phase of formulation.

Finally, as I hope you know, on July 8, Hartford Hospital CEO Elliot Joseph and I met with your elected faculty members on all of the councils, with the department chairs, Type II Center directors and with assistant and associate deans to discuss the Integration agreement. (For your reference, a list of invited participants is included.) Department chairs are also prepared to share pertinent information and answer questions. Your input as faculty is important.

I am very grateful to all who have participated, and continue to participate, in this process. In an effort to continue these conversations and share information, I will be scheduling a meeting with faculty leadership and plan a series of meetings with departments over the next few weeks. President Mike Hogan has agreed to join me at many of these meetings.

Your efforts, enthusiasm and thoughtful insights have been invaluable. Please continue to share your feedback with me or any of the faculty-leaders listed in this message.

Clinical Council Dean's Council

Dr. Peter Albertsen, chair
Dr. Patrick Coll
Dr. Denis Lafreniere
Dr. Jay Lieberman
Dr. Mark Metersky
Dr. Joseph Palmisano
Dr. Carolyn Runowicz
Dr. Richard Simon

Dr. Jane Grant-Kels
John Biancamano

Dr. Peter Albertsen
Dr. Bruce Gould
Dr. Bruce Koeppen, chair
Dr. George Kuchel
Dr. Marc Lalande
Dr. Kiki Nissen
Dr. M. Melinda Sanders
Dr. Richard Simon
Dr. Leslie Wolfson

Dr. Cato Laurencin
David Gillon

Education Council Oversight Council

Dr. Anton Alerte
Dr. Steven Angus
Dr. Kevin Dieckhaus
Dr. Mary Guerrera
Charles Huntington
Dr. Larry Klobutcher
Dr. Bruce Koeppen, chair
Dr. Lynn Kosowicz
Dr. Xue-Jun Li
Dr. Bruce Mayer
Dr. Kiki Nissen
Dr. Lynn Puddington
Dr. T.V. Rajan
Dr. Howard Shaw
Dr. Anthony Vella
Dr. Richard Zeff

Dr. Leslie Bernstein
Dr. Robert Bona
Dr. Robert Cushman
Dr. Jeri Hepworth
Dr. Bruce Liang
Dr. Dan McNally, chair
Dr. Peter Setlow
Dr. Howard Tennen
Dr. Sandra Weller

Public Issues Council Research Council

Dr. Brian Cooper
Dr. Jeannette DeJesus
Dr. Fran DiMario
Dr. Paul Dworkin
Dr. Ann Ferris
Dr. Mary Lou Fleissner
Dr. Bruce Gould
Dr. David Henderson
Charles Huntington
Dr. James Menzoian
Dr. Douglas Oliver
Dr. Joan Segal
Dr. Helen Swede
Dr. Nick Warren

Dr. Jeff Hoch
Dr. Laurinda Jaffe
Dr. Anne Kenny
Dr. Stephen King
Dr. Bruce Koeppen
Dr. George Kuchel
Dr. Bijay Mukherji
Dr. James O’Rourke
Dr. Leslie Wolfson

Dr. Peter Albertsen
Dr. Henry Kranzler
Dr. Marc Lalande

Department Heads

Anesthesiology, Dr. Jeffrey Gross
Cell Biology, Dr. Laurinda Jaffe
Community Medicine, Dr. Thomas Babor
Dermatology, Dr. Jane Grant-Kels
Diagnostic Imaging & Therapeutics, Dr. Douglas Fellows
Family Medicine, Dr. Robert Cushman
Genetics & Developmental Biology, Dr. Marc Lalande
Immunology, Dr. Pramod Srivastava
Medicine, Dr. Joseph Palmisano
Molecular, Microbial and Structural Biology, Dr. Sandra Weller
Neurology, Dr. Leslie Wolfson
Neuroscience, Dr. Richard Mains
Obstetrics and Gynecology, Dr. James Egan
Orthopaedic Surgery, Dr. Jay Lieberman
Pathology/Lab Medicine, Dr. M. Melinda Sanders
Pediatrics, Dr. Paul Dworkin
Psychiatry, Dr. Leighton Huey
Surgery, Dr. Robert Kozol
Traumatology & Emergency Medicine, Dr. Lenworth Jacobs

Type II Center Directors

The Ethel Donaghue Center for Translating Research into Practice and Policy, Dr. Judith Fifield
Connecticut Lions Vision Center, Dr. James O’Rourke
Richard D. Berlin Center for Cell Analysis and Modeling, Dr. Les Loew
The Pat & Jim Calhoun Cardiology Center, Dr. Bruce Liang
The Carole & Ray Neag Comprehensive Cancer Center, Dr. Carolyn Runowicz
New England Musculoskeletal Institute, Dr. Jay Lieberman
Center for Molecular Medicine, Dr. Andrew Arnold
Center for Vascular Biology, Dr. Tim Hla
Center for Public Health and Health Policy, Dr. Ann Ferris
UConn Center on Aging, Dr. George Kuchel
Institute for Regenerative Engineering, Dr. Cato Laurencin

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice President for Health Affairs
Dean, School of Medicine