Photo of the UConn Health Center

Messages from the Executive Vice President

May 27, 2010

Associate Dean for Education Search Committee

I am pleased to announce the launch of a national search for an Associate Dean for Education. This person will assume the critically important responsibilities Dr. Bruce Koeppen currently holds in the domains of education and research administration. Dr. Adam Silverman will chair this committee. The members of the committee are listed below and they will be called together in the next few weeks to begin their work. I have asked them to work diligently to identify a diverse group of candidates and I ask your assistance in this regard. Please contact Dr. Silverman if you know of persons we might invite to submit their names for consideration.

The members of the Search Committee are:

Chair: Adam Silverman, M.D.

Nancy Adams, M.D., Professor, Department of Medicine

Sherri-Ann Brown, MSIII and Ph.D. Candidate

Joseph Grasso, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, Department of Cell Biology

David Gregorio, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Community Medicine and Health Care

Michael Grey, M.D., Professor, Department of Medicine; Chief, Department of Medicine at The Hospital of Central Connecticut

Arthur Hand, D.D.S., Ph.D., Professor, Department of Craniofacial Sciences and Assistant Dean for Medical and Graduate Education, SODM

David Henderson, M.D., Associate Professor, Department of Family Medicine

Marja Hurley, M.D., Professor, Department of Medicine and Associate Dean for Health Career Opportunity Programs

Lynn Kosowicz, M.D., Associate Professor, Department of Medicine

Gregory Makoul, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Medicine, and Chief Academic Officer and Senior Vice President for Innovation and Quality Integration, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center

Gerald Maxwell, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Neuroscience, Associate Dean for Post Doctoral and External Affairs

Shaun McLaughlin, MS II and Ph.D. Candidate

Jacqueline (Kiki) Nissen, M.D., Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, and Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education

Joseph Palmisano, M.D., Professor and Interim Chair, Department of Medicine

Carol Pfeiffer, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Medicine

T.V. Rajan, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Kevon Rennie, D.S.I.V.

Harold Schwartz, M.D., Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Chair, Department of Psychiatry at Hartford Hospital

Peter Setlow, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Molecular, Microbial and Structural Biology

Jeff Small, Associate Vice President of Research Administration and Finance, UConn Health Center

Edwin Zalneraitis, M.D., Professor, Department of Pediatrics and Assistant Dean for Education, CCMC

Thank you.

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice President for Health Affairs
Dean, School of Medicine