Photo of the UConn Health Center

Messages from the Executive Vice President

July 10, 2012

LCME Update

I am proud to announce that the UConn School of Medicine (SOM) received official results of the February 2012 accreditation site visit. We are either in “compliance” or in “compliance with monitoring” on all standards set forth by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME), the accrediting body of U.S. medical schools. There are no areas of noncompliance with LCME standards and no warnings. The SOM remains fully accredited. The next accreditation site visit is slated for 2017-2018.

I offer my thanks to those who worked tirelessly on this effort, especially the LCME Task Force under the guidance of Dr. Suzanne Rose and Dr. Bruce Liang. Task Force members included Drs. Yvonne Grimm-Jorgensen, Dave Henderson, Dan Henry, Lynn Kosowicz, Cathie Lewis, TV Rajan, Melinda Sanders, Ms. Bridget Schulz and Ms. Katherine Zelko.

The LCME’s report confirms our commitment to medical education and reaffirms something that was evident to me from the moment I arrived—we have talented faculty, dedicated staff and an extraordinary group of students. Together, we will create an environment of unparalleled excellence in education.


Frank M. Torti, M.D., M.P.H.
Executive Vice President for Health Affairs
Dean, School of Medicine