Photo of the UConn Health Center

Messages from the Executive Vice President

March 14, 2012

New Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry

We are extremely pleased to announce that Dr. David C. Steffens, an internationally prominent academician, clinician and researcher with expertise in geriatric psychiatry, has been appointed professor and chairman of the Department of Psychiatry. His appointment follows a national search led by Dr. George Kuchel, director of the UConn Center on Aging. We are grateful both to Dr. Kuchel and Dr. Victor Hesselbrock who has served as interim chair of Psychiatry.

Dr. Steffens will join UConn on July 1, after more than 20 years at Duke University School of Medicine, where he has served as a professor of psychiatry, vice chair for education and head, Division of Geriatric Psychiatry in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. Dr. Steffens is the president-elect of the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry, has authored more than 240 peer-reviewed papers and is the co-editor of the leading textbook in geriatric psychiatry. Dr. Steffens also has considerable experience in medical education and mentoring aspiring physicians and junior faculty.

A graduate of Rice University and the University of Texas Health Science Center School of Medicine, Dr. Steffens moved to Duke University Medical Center in 1988, where he completed his internship and residency in psychiatry. His career has focused on mood and cognitive disorders in older adults since joining the faculty at Duke. Dr. Steffens received a Masterís of Health Science in Clinical Research from Duke in 2000. He currently holds an NIMH-supported Mid-Career Development Award and his major research project, known as Neurocognitive Outcomes of Depression in the Elderly (NCODE), has been continuously supported by NIMH/NIH. At UConn, Dr. Steffens will continue his research pursuits and will see patients with mood disorders.

Please join us in welcoming Dr. Steffens to the UConn Health Center!

Philip E. Austin
Interim Vice President for Health Affairs

Bruce T. Liang, M.D.
Interim Dean, UConn School of Medicine
Director, Pat and Jim Calhoun Cardiology Center