Photo of the UConn Health Center

Messages from the Executive Vice President

May 30, 2014

Changes in the Department of Neurology

After more than 24 years as Chair of the Department of Neurology at UConn Health and Hartford Hospital, Leslie Wolfson, M.D., will be stepping down as chair on June 1. He will, however, remain on the faculty pursuing research, educational commitments, and providing patient care.

Dr. Wolfson is widely recognized for his work in geriatric neurology specifically with regard to balance and gait. He has collaborated with colleagues throughout UConn Health, as well as other institutions on breakthrough work including the impact of changes in the brain’s white matter in older patients, as well as the effects of high blood pressure on mobility, cognition, and urinary dysfunction in older persons.

Along with his many research achievements, Dr. Wolfson has also led the Department of Neurology’s residency program, training a new generation of highly skilled neurologists. More recently, Neurology also developed a three-week clerkship for our third year medical students. I am deeply grateful to Dr. Wolfson for his leadership and support through the years.

Dr. Agnes Jani-Acsadi will assume the role of interim chair of Neurology. Dr. Jani-Acsadi has been with UConn Health since 2010 and is a nationally recognized expert in neurophysiology and neuromuscular diseases. She trained at the Montreal Neurological Institute, part of McGill University, and completed a fellowship in clinical neurophysiology at Wayne State University School of Medicine. Dr. Jani-Acsadi has repeatedly appeared on the “Best Doctors in America” list.

Please join me in extending best wishes to both Drs. Wolfson and Jani-Acsadi in their new endeavors.


Frank M. Torti
Executive Vice President for Health Affairs
Dean, UConn School of Medicine