Critical Care

Pediatric Critical Care at Connecticut Children's Medical Center encompasses a busy service, including an 18-bed intensive care unit (with an average daily census of 10 patients). Connecticut Children's Medical Center is a regional pediatric trauma center, bringing a large number of patients with head and multiple systems trauma to the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit. Hartford Hospital's LIFE STAR helicopter transports many children requiring intensive care for both medical and surgical reasons from Connecticut and neighboring states. The PICU rotations include a required rotation in pediatric transport medicine, and residents may electively participate on the Transport Team, beyond the required Transport experience. Residents may attend monthly didactic sessions and review of clinical management of transported patients. Resident teaching focuses on procedural skills such as vascular access, intubation, hemodynamic monitoring, and on the multisystemic support of the critically ill child. Research interest in the division includes child abuse, catecholamine pharmacokinetics, and the treatment of head trauma. Residents are assigned to the PICU for one block in both the PL-2 and PL-3 years. Further clinical experience occurs through cross-coverage after hours. They may also elect special or research experiences in critical care.

Critical Care Faculty

Aaron Zucker, M.D.
Medical Director, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit
Division Chief, Pediatric Critical Care
Professor of Pediatrics
AZucker@connecticutchildrens.org


Allison Cowl, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
ACowl@connecticutchildrens.org

Christopher Carroll, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Director, Pediatric Critical Care Research
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
CCarroll@connecticutchildrens.org


Leonard Comeau, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
LComeau@connecticutchildrens.org


Adam Silverman, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
Attending Physician, Division of Emergency Medicine
ASilverman@connecticutchildrens.org

Heather Schlott, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
HSchlott@connecticutchildrens.org



Kenneth Banasiak, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
KBanasiak@connecticutchildrens.org


Rosanne Salonia, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
RSalonia@connecticutchildrens.org

 

Daniel Fisher, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
DFisher@connecticutchildrens.org

 

 

Aaron Zucker, M.D.
Aaron Zucker, M.D.

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106