Emergency Medicine

Emergency Department
The emergent care of critically ill and injured children occurs in the 29 rooms of the Connecticut Children's Medical Center Emergency Department. With an annual census of 55,000 visits, pediatric residents have the opportunity to evaluate and care for children with the full spectrum of medical and surgical emergencies. The CCMC ED is staffed 24 hours a day by attending physicians boarded in Pediatric Emergency Medicine. The attending physicians precept the pediatric resident on all patients they see and provide ongoing case-based teaching during these interactions. These physicians also serve as medical control for the pediatric transport team.  Residents are assigned to the CCMC ED one month each year.

Emergency Medicine Faculty

John Peng, M.D.
Division Head, Associate Professor
jpeng@connecticutchildrens.org

James F. Wiley, II, M.D.
Professor
jwiley@connecticutchildrens.org

John C. Brancato, M.D.
Associate Professor
jbranca@connecticutchildrens.org

Zoe Casey, M.D.
Assistant Professor
zcasey@connecticutchildrens.org

Dr. Lana Friedman, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Lfriedman01@connecticutchildrens.org

Andrew Heggland, M.D.
Assistant Professor
aheggland@connecticutchildrens.org

Matt Laurich, M.D.
Assistant Professor
mlaurich@connecticutchildrens.org

James Parker, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jfparke@connecticutchildrens.org

Carla Pruden, M.D.
Assistant Professor
cpruden@connecticutchildrens.org

Steve Rogers, M.D.
Assistant Professor
scrogers@connecticutchildrens.org

Adam Silverman, M.D.
Assistant Professor
asilverman@connecticutchildrens.org

Michael Soltis, M.D.
Assistant Professor
msoltis@connecticutchildrens.org

Sharon Smith, M.D.
Associate Professor
srsmith@connecticutchildrens.org

Jesse Sturm, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Jsturm01@connecticutchildrens.org

Kristin Welch, M.D.
Assistant Professor
kwelch@connecticutchildrens.org

John Peng
John Peng, M.D.

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106