Gastroenterology and Nutrition

The Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology maintains a very active consultation service for children with gastrointestinal, nutritional, and hepatic problems. Approximately 15,000 outpatients are seen each year and the inpatient days are nearly 3000. Endoscopic examinations of the upper and lower gastrointestinal tract, motility studies, liver biopsy, and breath hydrogen testing are performed. Video capsule endoscopy is offered for the diagnosis of IBD as well as occult GI bleeding. The Center for Pediatric IBD is one of the busiest in the nation.

Research interests of the Division include investigating new treatment modalities for inflammatory bowel disease and functional abdominal pain, the effect of chronic intestinal inflammation on bone metabolism and growth, and allergic gastrointestinal disorders. Other interests include: infantile colic, carbohydrate malabsorption, and gastroesophageal reflux. Residents are exposed to gastroenterology and hepatology during inpatient and outpatient rotations and during electives in this area.

Gastroenterology and Nutrition Faculty

Jeffrey S. Hyams, M.D.
Professor and Head
jhyams@connecticutchildrens.org

Karan Emerick, M.D.
Assistant Professor
kemerick@connecticutchildrens.org

Wael Sayej, M.D.
Assistant Professor
wsayej@connecticutchildrens.org

Franziska Mohr, MD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
fmohr@connecticutchildrens.org

Francisco Sylvester, M.D.
Professor
fsylvester@connecticutchildrens.org

Bella Zeisler, M.D.
Assistant Professor
bzeisler@connecticutchildrens.org

Donna Zeiter, M.D.
Assistant Professor
dzeiter@connecticutchildrens.org

Zev Davidovics, MD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
zdavidovics@connecticutchildrens.org

Jeffrey S. Hyams, M.D.
Jeffrey S. Hyams, MD

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106