Hematology/Oncology

The Division of Hematology-Oncology evaluates and treats approximately 60 new cases of childhood cancer annually, with over 100 cancer patients on active treatment and over 350 survivors followed long-term.  We follow over 170 children and adolescents with sickle cell disease and thalassemia, and over 150 with bleeding disorders.  We have very active inpatient and outpatient services caring for the full spectrum of oncological and hematological diseases and disorders.

The division is a full member of the Children's Oncology Group and other consortiums and participates in new treatment protocols for acute leukemias, neuroblastoma, Wilms' tumor, rhabdomyosarcoma, and brain tumors. Other research activities include impact of exercise and activity on quality of life for patients with cancer, as well as prevalence of cardiac late effects in survivors of childhood cancer and methods of early detection.  We have a cancer research laboratory looking at pathways to target for novel therapies in Wilms’ tumor and Neuroblastoma.

Click here to read the news article:
Generosity of Donors Paves Way For Connecticut Children's to
Construct New Clinical Care Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders

Hematology/Oncology Faculty

J. Nathan Hagstrom, M.D.
Associate Professor and Division Head
nhagstr@connecticutchildrens.org

Arnold J. Altman, M.D.
Professor
aaltman@connecticutchildrens.org

Donna M. Boruchov, M.D.
Assistant Professor
dboruchov@connecticutchildrens.org

Eileen Gillan, M.D.
Associate Professor
egillan@connecticutchildrens.org

Michael Isakoff, M.D.
Assistant Professor
misakoff@connecticutchildrens.org

Kerry Moss, M.D.
Assistant Clinical Professor
kmoss@connecticutchildrens.org

Andrea D. Orsey, M.D.
Assistant Professor
aorsey@connecticutchildrens.org

Nehal Parikh, M.D.
Assistant Professor
nparikh@connecticutchildrens.org

Adjunct Faculty:
Fernando Ferrer, M.D.
Associate Professor
fferrer@connecticutchildrens.org

J. Nathan Hagstrom, M.D.
J. Nathan Hagstrom, M.D.

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106