Neonatology

Residents have a total of two rotations, one each in the first two years.. Additional advanced rotations are offered to residents choosing one of the acute care or in-patient tracks. Connecticut Children's Medical Center’s Neonatology program includes two NICUs one at Hartford Hospital (adjacent to its main building) and one located at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine/John Dempsey Hospital in Farmington, CT. The NICU at Hartford Hospital is a level 4 unit serving a delivery service of approximately 3600 annually with 32 intensive care beds and is the referral center for the Regional Newborn Cardiac Program. This NICU is also the primary referral site for infants requiring surgical and/or sub-specialty care in Northern Connecticut and, along with Hartford Hospital, is the primary campus for the Connecticut Center for Fetal and Neonatal Care (CCFNC). Connecticut Children’s Transport Program provides neonatal transport (NICU- staffed) for infants in the referral region. Connecticut Children’s NICU at John Dempsey Hospital is a level 3 NICU with 40 beds and serves as the major focus for tertiary referral of high-risk mothers and infants for Northern Connecticut. Each NICU has a transition clinic providing short term medical care for selected NICU graduates. In addition comprehensive Neurodevelopmental follow-up is provided to high risk patients which residents may choose to attend longitudinally. The Neonatal Fellowship Program contributes to the teaching at each site, and many residents have elected to pursue their fellowship in this program.

The division has broadly based clinical and laboratory research programs in necrotizing enterocolitis, neonatal nutrition, breastfeeding medicine, neonatal immunology and infection. , A number of residents and neonatology fellows have been involved in neonatal research projects resulting in presentations at regional and national meetings and publications in peer-reviewed journals. Both NICUs have a rich clinical database available for research projects. Special research electives in neonatology are encouraged.

Neonatology Faculty

Victor C. Herson, M.D.
Professor and Division Head
vherson@connecticutchildrens.org

Jorge Alba, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jalba@connecticutchildrens.org

Elizabeth Brownell, PhD
Assistant Professor
ebrownell@connecticutchildrens.org

Jose Arias-Camison, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jarias@stfranciscare.org

Leonard I. Eisenfeld, M.D.
Associate Professor
leisenf@connecticutchildrens.org

James Hagadorn, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jhagadorn@connecticutchildrens.org

Naveed Hussain, M.B.B.S., D.C.H.
Associate Professor
nhussain@connecticutchildrens.org

Carla Jacobson-Kiel, M.D.
Assistant Professor
cjacobsonkiel@connecticutchildrens.org

Shabnam Lainwala, M.D.
Assistant Professor
slainwala@connecticutchildrens.org

Arpana Mohnani, M.D.
Assistant Professor
amohnani@connecticutchildrens.org

Kathleen Marinelli, M.D.
Associate Professor
kmarine@connecticutchildrens.org

Adam Matson, M.D.
Assistant Professor
amatson@connecticutchildrens.org

Mariann Pappagallo, M.D.
Associate Professor
pappagallo@uchc.edu

Ted Rosenkrantz, M.D.
Professor
rosenkrant@nso1.uchc.edu

Marilyn Sanders, M.D.
Professor
msander@connecticutchildrens.org

Shikha Sarkar, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Ssarkar@connecticutchildrens.org

David Sink, M.D.
Assistant Professor
dsink@connecticutchildrens.org

Jennifer Trzaski, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jtrzask@connecticutchildrens.org

Anirrhuda Vidwans, M.D.
Assistant Professor
vidwans@nso1.uchc.edu

Leslie Wolkoff, M.D.
Assistant Professor
lwolkof@connecticutchildrens.org

Victor C. Herson, MD
Victor C. Herson, M.D.

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106